Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » M2T (model-to-text transformation) » Questions about generation code for Objective C and small games for iPhone
icon12.gif  Questions about generation code for Objective C and small games for iPhone [message #900578] Tue, 07 August 2012 15:54 Go to next message
Ricardo1980 Missing name is currently offline Ricardo1980 Missing name
Hello out there!

I'm new to M2T and have some questions. I'd like to create a system to create simple iOS games (something like interactive ebooks for children). I already have an idea of my required metamodel and diagrams, but I have some questions regarding code generation.

I'm reading about different M2T tools: Acceleo, Xtend, CommentTemplate, Xpand and Mofscript, but actually I don't have real experience and all this stuff is new to me. So I'd like to know your opinions about which one could be better for this project. Let me know your ideas.

The code I want to generate have to use cocos2d as a 2d engine, and evidently Objective C as a language. Because of this, ARC (automatic reference counting) cannot be use, so I have to manage the memory manually, using retain and release. Is this a problem with code generators? I ask this because usually they usually generate Java, where memory is managed automatically using a garbage collector. Is this a problem for some code generators?

Another question I have is, when you generate code, do you also generate project files?
I mean, when using Xcode for creating a project, a file (package) .xcodeproj is created, that has a XML file with all .h and .m files for compiling the project.
Do you usually generate this kind of configuration files with M2T, or just generate a command line to compile all generated files?