Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Re-naming java packages - non-techie(Re-naming java packages for a non-techie)
Re-naming java packages - non-techie [message #884649] Mon, 11 June 2012 14:56 Go to next message
Kerry Vince is currently offline Kerry VinceFriend
Hi,

I'm trying to modify an existing openup process to reflect our in-house delivery lifecycle. I am able to make changes easily to the plug-ins and re-define the relationships that exist but I am struggling to make changes to the packages that bundle these plug-ins together into features of the lifecycle such as process, practice and core.

Is there a simple way to achieve this without needing an indepth knowledge of java. I am quick to learn new concepts but I am not a developer and have no experience of java etc.

Thank you Smile
Re: Re-naming java packages - non-techie [message #884653 is a reply to message #884649] Mon, 11 June 2012 15:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Zack Macomber is currently offline Zack MacomberFriend
Go to Window -> Show View -> Package Explorer. In that view, you can look at your Java packages. Right click on any of them and hover over the "Refactor" choice. You can rename or move that particular package from there.
Re: Re-naming java packages - non-techie [message #884660 is a reply to message #884653] Mon, 11 June 2012 15:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Thanks for your response Zac,

If I create a new java project myself and create a java package, this works great, as the package explorer shows the package. In the openup example I downloaded, the package only seems to be visible in the authoring library view. When viewed in package explorer they appears as folders named core.default.cat_def.base etc this naming convention seems to reflect the hierarchy seen in the authoring view.

I can post a screen shot if that would be helpful.