Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Minimalist GUI, do I need to add anything to Eclipse IDE?
Minimalist GUI, do I need to add anything to Eclipse IDE? [message #762238] Wed, 07 December 2011 18:48 Go to next message
toplite is currently offline topliteFriend
I'm new to Java and Eclipse. I've just downloaded Eclipse Indigo to use with OSX Lion.

The app I'd like to create will have a very minimalist GUI. I need a black fullscreen (no menubar, scrolling, resizing, just a black screen). Within this space I need to dynamically create and arrange clickable buttons that are simply colored rectangles with text labels inside them. I will also need text input boxes that are as basic as a form field in html.

I don't need anything fancier, nor do I need a graphical layout builder. I'd prefer to do it all with code, with the most lightweight (as in CPU usage) method possible.

Does Eclipse come with what I need out of the box? Or do I need one of these Swing/AWT/SWT addons? Thanks for your help.
Re: Minimalist GUI, do I need to add anything to Eclipse IDE? [message #762272 is a reply to message #762238] Wed, 07 December 2011 19:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Deepak Azad is currently offline Deepak AzadFriend
On 12/8/2011 12:18 AM, toplite wrote:
> I'm new to Java and Eclipse. I've just downloaded Eclipse Indigo to use
> with OSX Lion.
>
> The app I'd like to create will have a very minimalist GUI. I need a
> black fullscreen (no menubar, scrolling, resizing, just a black screen).
> Within this space I need to dynamically create and arrange clickable
> buttons that are simply colored rectangles with text labels inside them.
> I will also need text input boxes that are as basic as a form field in
> html.
>
> I don't need anything fancier, nor do I need a graphical layout builder.