Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Graphiti » Using Zest LayoutAlgorithm in Graphiti
Using Zest LayoutAlgorithm in Graphiti [message #757201] Thu, 17 November 2011 04:45 Go to next message
Patrick Talbot is currently offline Patrick TalbotFriend
I am new to Graphiti and like it a lot so far.

Please excuse me if this topic was already addressed somewhere, I couldn't find anything though in the tutorial nor on this forum...

I would like to use Zest's LayoutAlgorithm in an auto layout Feature in Graphiti.

I've seen the FAQ about integrating an arbitrary automatic layouter and have tested the TutorialLayoutDiagramFeature, but I'm unsure how this relates to Zest LayoutAlgorithmn.

Will I have to create an offscreen GraphViewer and layout my elements there, getting back the coordinates to feed the Graphiti Diagram? Or is there any way to use LayoutAlgorithmn directly in Graphiti?

Has anyone here ever achieved something like that and if so, could you tell me more?
Any pointers will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
-Patrick
Re: Using Zest LayoutAlgorithm in Graphiti [message #757698 is a reply to message #757201] Mon, 21 November 2011 09:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Joerg Reichert is currently offline Joerg ReichertFriend
Hi Patrick,

I think you have to map
* the org.eclipse.graphiti.mm.pictograms.Diagram to org.to the org.eclipse.draw2d.graph.CompoundDirectedGraph, like shown in the TutorialLayoutDiagramFeature.java
* map the org.eclipse.draw2d.graph.CompoundDirectedGraph to org.eclipse.zest.core.widgets.Graph
* org.eclipse.draw2d.graph.Node -> org.eclipse.zest.core.widgets.GraphNode
* org.eclipse.draw2d.graph.Edge -> org.eclipse.zest.core.widgets.GraphConnection
* apply the Zest layout algorithm, e.g.

graph.setLayoutAlgorithm(new SpringLayoutAlgorithm(LayoutStyles.NO_LAYOUT_NODE_RESIZING), true);