Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Equinox » Bundle-ClassPath and resource entries
Bundle-ClassPath and resource entries [message #685815] Mon, 20 June 2011 05:40 Go to next message
Sahoo Missing name is currently offline Sahoo Missing name
I am new to eclipse and plugin development environment. I wrote a plugin and have configured it to run as "OSGi framework". I see Equinox being launched and my plugin provisioned as shown below:

2	initial@reference:file:../../../../../../../../bugs/libra/plugin1/
  ACTIVE      plugin1_1.0.0.qualifier

I have another bundle which tries to inspect this plugin. It collects all entries in a bundle by recursively calling bundle.getEntry() as shown below:

private void getEntryPaths(Collection<String> entries, String path) {
        Enumeration<String> subPaths = b.getEntryPaths(path);
        if (subPaths != null) {
            while (subPaths.hasMoreElements()) {
                String next = subPaths.nextElement();
                entries.add(next);
                getEntryPaths(entries, next); // recursion
            }
        }
}

For the plugin bundle, the above code reported bundle entries as

bin/
bin/plugin1/
bin/plugin1/Activator.class
META-INF/
META-INF/MANIFEST.MF
src/

So far so good. What surprises me is that even though the activator class, plugin1.Activator.class, is inside bin/ folder, the Bundle-ClassPath header is not set in the bundle's metadata and yet Equinox is able to locate the activator. Can anyone please explain how Equinox locates the class from bin/ folder when the Bundle-ClassPath is not set to "bin?" Where is the magic of locating resources from bin folder happening?

Thanks much,
Sahoo

[Updated on: Mon, 20 June 2011 05:42]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Bundle-ClassPath and resource entries [message #685865 is a reply to message #685815] Mon, 20 June 2011 08:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message