Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EclipseLink » EclipseLink with JSR 303 - Bean Validation in an RCP environment
EclipseLink with JSR 303 - Bean Validation in an RCP environment [message #676014] Thu, 02 June 2011 13:48 Go to next message
Andreas Fagschlunger is currently offline Andreas FagschlungerFriend
Hy all!

I am new to RCP devolpment and right now I am working on a simple RCP application with UI and DB (embedded Derby) support.

The last two days I worked on setting up JPA 2.0 with EclipseLink. It finally worked - the EclipseLink Comics example was very helpfull.

But now I am stuck on getting JSR 303 - Bean Validation to work with EclipseLink and Hibernate Validator.

I have created two Plugins from the JARs hibernate-validator-4.1.0.Final.jar and validation-api-1.0.0.GA.jar. I added both Plugins as dependencies two my Plugin. But the EclipseLink Log shows the following line:

[EL Finer]: Could not initialize Validation Factory. Encountered following exception: javax.validation.ValidationException: Unable to find a default provider

The same Exception occurs if I try to get a ValidationFactory outside of EclipseLink (Validation.buildDefaultValidatorFactory()).

I also tried the approach described here:

katastrophos.net/magnus/blog/2009/07/18/having-fun-with-jsr-303-beans-validation-and-osgi-spring-dm/

But then I get a ClassNotFoundException:

Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javax.validation.spi.ValidationProvider
at org.eclipse.osgi.internal.loader.BundleLoader.findClassInternal(BundleLoader.java:506)
at org.eclipse.osgi.internal.loader.BundleLoader.findClass(BundleLoader.java:422)
at org.eclipse.osgi.internal.loader.BundleLoader.findClass(BundleLoader.java:410)
at org.eclipse.osgi.internal.baseadaptor.DefaultClassLoader.loadClass(DefaultClassLoader.java:107)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
... 63 more