|Proclipsing - data folder deleted [message #670804]
||Sun, 15 May 2011 12:34
| Filip Tomaszewski
Registered: May 2011
I'm sorry if this is a wrong folder to ask the question:
I am using Eclipse after migrating from very limited Processing IDE, and I've been finding it extremely useful aside from one very annoying feature.
Processing uses 'data' folder to hold external files loaded in runtime. I've written a video performance software which was loading textures and vector shapes and placing them in space following scene descriptions loaded from XML. I gave the software (along with Eclipse) to my partner so she could generate all the graphics in our show and she spent most of last week preparing graphics files and putting them in 'data' folder.
Suddenly, today, Eclipse decided to synchronise the 'data' folder with its imagination of its contents (I'm not sure if it copies 'src' copy of data or what it has in the java browsing window)
Basically, all of her work has been suddenly deleted.
As annoying as that 'feature' can be, a question remains is there any way to restore that folder (and to switch off that damn file deletions in the future?). We are running 'data rescue' at the moment but its going to take hours to manually find deleted files..
thanks for any help.
|Re: Proclipsing - data folder deleted [message #670858 is a reply to message #670804]
||Sun, 15 May 2011 19:03
Originally posted by: Glenn Maynard|
On Sun, 15 May 2011 12:34:49 -0400, Filip Tomaszewski
> Basically, all of her work has been suddenly deleted.
Eclipse is one of the most dangerous tools I've ever used. Luckily I've
not lost data, but only because I've seen others' complaints of data loss
and make constant backups--as it has, in fact, deleted whole trees of my
For example, when deleting a linked directory in the IDE, this dialog pops
up reassuring you that the actual files won't be deleted:
> Are you sure you want to delete linked package 'package'?
> Only the workspace link will be deleted. Link target will remain
> Note that all subelements of the selected linked packages and package
> fragment roots will be removed from the workspace.
> [*] Delete subpackages of selected packages
Great: removes the link from the workspace and doesn't touch the target.
Except, when you click "OK", it proceeds to catastrophically wipe out
everything underneath the top-level directory, just as it assured you it
wouldn't. I always edit the .project file manually now to edit linked
Not an answer to your question, just a word of warning...
Powered by FUDForum
. Page generated in 0.06381 seconds