Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » eRCP » Special characters get lost while posting them into currently focused input using display.post()
Special characters get lost while posting them into currently focused input using display.post() [message #564004] Mon, 16 November 2009 17:49
steve is currently offline steveFriend
Dear all,

I am new to business, as well as new to this forum here... so I want to apologize in case this article/thread is already present in a similar way. I looked for it over 10 minutes, but I couldn't find any threads which somehow match or treat my problem.

So as the title already says, the library, the operating system behind or something else kinda swallos my special characters.
(what special characters are for ME: no digits (values) and no characters from a to z and A to Z. perfect example: - (dash))

background information and working scenario: I need to use the display.post(Event event) method as I need to simulate key and button presses (scanner device). (to be sure, the class org.swt.eclipse.widgets.Display.java is the correct and the only one I am talking about here.) furthermore, display.post() automatically uses the currently focused input field where the keys are inserted then. so if a scan is performed with the barcode scanner, the characteres and digits are automatically inserted into the input field (except for the special ones).

testing system: Symbol WT4090 device with Windows CE 5 operating system.
application that uses all this stuff: JAVA 1.4 using eSWT (eswt-converged-1-1.jar; eswt-converged.dll).

What already works (with implementation below): If it is a digit or a character, everything works perfectly. the characters (even on demand the capital ones (SHIFT)) are posted into the input field. each of the characters outside this range - the special characteres from above - does not work at all.